bruises

My veins bruised when they took out the needles, it did hurt I must say, but not as much when you forced yourself out of my bloodstream. ” take a deep breath, this might hurt,” they’d say, slowly removing the needles as my veins turned purple and bruised. But you? You didn’t, there were no warning signs, I turned around and you are gone at an instant. 

That was a while ago, and the bruises are healing. But the bruises still remind me of how painful it was for me to let you go, and how much you left a mark, a scar, a reminder telling me that you meant something to me, but I, nothing to you. 

Leave a Reply

